Another Successful Annual Meeting for CCGGA in in the Books!

This week, the California Cotton Ginners and Growers Association hosted its 2024 Annual Meeting at the International Agri Center in Tulare, California.  More than 120 participants attended the informative meeting with speakers covering a multitude of important issues.  The morning began with the financial report from the Association’s auditing firm Spafford and Landry.  Then the group broke into two sections: ginners and growers.  The ginners were provided with updates from the National Cotton Ginners Association and its activities by current NCGA President Richard Lindsay, the USDA ARS Southwest Cotton Ginning Laboratory and the research they are conducting by Research Leader Dr. Derek Whitelock, and finally a presentation on cottonseed by Dr. Evy Jaconis, of Cotton, Inc.  Meanwhile the growers were briefed on the San Joaquin Valley Water Blueprint by Blueprint Vice Chairman Geoffrey Vanden Huevel of the California Milk Producers Council  Then they were presented with a discussion on Regenerative Agriculture by Dr. Cindy Daley, head of the Center for Regenerative Agriculture at CSU Chico.  Then both groups came back together to receive an update on Sacramento issues by George Soares of Kahn, Soares and Conway.  Later the Association staff led by Assistant Vice President Priscilla Rodriguez, Director of Technical Services Christopher McGlothlin, and President/CEO Roger Isom provided an overview of the important issues the Association is tackling.  At the meeting incoming Chairman Gary Martin presented outgoing Chairman Matt Toste with a plaque and gavel recognizing him for his two years of tremendous service.  Following lunch, the Association recognized George Soares with it Distinguished Service Award presented by former CCGGA President/CEO Earl P. Williams.  Finally, the Association’s President/CEO posthumously recognized former CCGGA Chairman Tom Gaffney who passed away unexpectedly this past February.  He was recognized with a special Distinguished Service Award for his efforts and contributions to the cotton industry and the California Cotton Ginners and Growers Association.